The Open-Source High: Nordigen Integration, A Proud Dad Moment for a Freelance Developer

The Open-Source High: Nordigen Integration, A Proud Dad Moment for a Freelance Developer

Nordigen Integration Package for Dart/Flutter: My Journey of Developing a High-Level API Abstraction Layer

nordigen_integration | Dart Package (pub.dev)

Introduction

As a freelance developer, I often found myself working on a range of projects for clients around the world. Few years ago, one of my clients commissioned me to develop a high-level API abstraction layer for Dart/Flutter over Nordigen’s European Banking API Service.

After working hard on the project, I was thrilled when my client allowed me to publish the package as an open-source project in my name. This article will explore the experience of creating and releasing an open-source package and the pride that comes with it.

Features

The Package encapsulates all basic Information APIs of Nordigen. This includes:

  • Account: Fetching account holder name, a list of account holder’s accounts (account number, IBAN)

  • Transactions: Fetching date, merchant or counterparty (partner) name, description (info field), amount

  • Balances: Fetching bank current and available balance

  • 🔥 Building, Formatting, and Testing of the package automated using Github Actions

The Journey

Developing the Nordigen Integration Package

When the client approached me with the project to create an API abstraction layer for Nordigen’s European Banking API Service, I knew it would be a great challenge. However, I was excited to take on the project and develop a package that could be easily integrated into any project. The package was developed using Dart/Flutter and was well-documented to make it easier for developers to use. After months of hard work, the package was ready to be released.

Nordigen Integration | Tests are a must when developing Open-Source Packages

Tests are a must when developing Open-Source Packages

Publishing an Open-Source Package

When my client allowed me to publish the package as an open-source project in my name, I was ecstatic. I had always admired open-source developers and was thrilled to join their ranks. I knew that this would be a great opportunity to contribute to the community while also showcasing my skills as a developer. By publishing the package as open-source, I was able to make it available for free to anyone who needed it. This was a great way to give back to the community and also to receive feedback on the package from other developers.

Seeing the Package in Use

After publishing the package, I was delighted to see it being used by developers around the world. It was a surreal experience to see something that I had created being used by developers who were previously unknown to me. Knowing that my work was being appreciated and used by others was a feeling that is hard to put into words.

The appreciation received from the community is also motivating. ;) | https://github.com/Dhi13man/nordigen_integration

The appreciation received from the community is also motivating. ;)

Contributing to the Open-Source Community

Being a part of the open-source community has been an incredibly rewarding experience. I have had the opportunity to connect with other developers, learn from them, and also share my knowledge with them. By contributing to the community, I have been able to improve my skills as a developer, gain recognition for my work, and also give back to the community that has given me so much.

To contribute to this package yourself, start here.

Conclusion

Developing the Nordigen Integration Package and publishing it as open-source has been a proud moment for me as a freelance developer. Seeing my work being used and appreciated by others has been a humbling experience, and I am grateful for the opportunity to contribute to the open-source community. As developers, we have a unique opportunity to share our knowledge and skills with others, and I encourage everyone to consider contributing to the open-source community in any way they can.

Buy me a coffee at: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/dhi13man

dhi13man is developing Software, Apps, Libraries, Open Source Contributions etc. (buymeacoffee.com)

Package on Pub.Dev

Contribute to the package on GitHub

#opensource #flutterdev #fluttercommunity #dart #pubdev #freelancedeveloper #opensourcecommunity #apidevelopment #softwaredev #nordigen

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Dhiman Seal by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!